Update long overdue

Well it’s been too long and I’ve neglected my blog.  I’ve been doing lots of internet searching for green and renewable stuff.  We have the motor home at the property now and our pond is half finished…long story won’t bore you with details.

We have planted some bamboo to use as a wind break and also to use later for roofing on our porches, etc.  We have some baby palms of different varieties, some sunflowers which just started blooming and some herbs.  We also have a couple of pineapple plants, a tangerine seedling that has just started peeking out of the dirt, some banana trees and some flowers.

Rainy season is already here, this has been the strangest year for weather that I’ve seen since I moved to Florida in 1997.  I don’t think we are going to have to worry about drought this year, we are already at a surplus and rainy season doesn’t officially start until June 1.  We had three inches of standing water at the property on Saturday.  Thankfully we have the pads down for the pole barn and our eventual home, so we will be moving the bus to the pad very soon to get us away from the water.

I’ve been doing a lot of research on homemade stuff.  I’m going to start making my own laundry soap and eliminate commercial household cleaners completely.  Eventually, I want to use our gray water to irrigate the garden and I do not want any toxic chemicals going into our food or plants.  I have found numerous recipies and will be posting them as soon as I figure out what works best for me.  You can make a gallon of multi-purpose cleaner for SEVEN CENTS!  Call me cheap, but I’m never paying for clorox cleanup or fantastic again!  Vinegar, water, liquid soap and some essential oil drops is all you need!

In my laundry soap research I found a tip that I used today and it works great!  They said to add 1/2 – 1 cup of white vinegar to your rinse and you could eliminate using fabric softener or dryer sheets.  Guess what!  It works!  No static and clothes are soft and smell fresh (do not smell like vinegar, just fresh).  The vinegar removes the detergent buildup on your clothes and from your washer at the same time.  As soon as I make the laundry soap and use it I will post my findings.  I’m going to start a new page for my homemade biodegradable household cleaners and laundry detergents, etc.  But for now, try the distilled white vinegar in your rinse cycle.  I actually have an old downy ball and I filled it with vinegar instead of downy and it worked like a charm.  The inside of my washer is cleaner than it’s ever been and my clothes just smelled fresh and I think they felt better even wet.  Imagine I bought two gallons of white vinegar at SAMS Club for around $4.00.  If I use 1/2 cup per washload, that means I can freshen and soften 64 loads of laundry for around $4.00.   From what I am seeing, I can make 3 gallons of laundry gel or powder for around 10 dollars.  The most I have seen you need to use is 1/2 cup of either for a full load so I can do 92 loads of laundry for around $10.00.  I’m currently using ALL FREE AND CLEAR and it costs around $15 at SAMS for a gallon.  Another trick I have used before is to add 1/2 to 1 cup of baking soda to the laundry and it softens the water which helps the detergent to work better.  It is a super cheap laundry booster.  You can use it in the dishwasher too!

I like the idea of using natural ingredients that are not harmful to the environment, will not affect my allergies and will actually allow me to reuse my gray water instead of sending it into a septic system.

Check out  my Clean, Green and Lean Alternatives Page! I’ll be updating this page as I find more homemade alternatives.

That’s all for now!  I’m back to finding new ideas!

Leave a Reply

